Meal plan for week of 7/10 (week 5 of the pantry challenge)

Sorry this is a little late going up!  We have been very busy this past week with new jobs, dog sitting, and various appointments. Better late than never right??

Let start with a quick recap.

  • What is a pantry challenge? It is when you plan your meals based off of what you already have, buying only dairy, fresh fruits and vegetables.  I am doing a modified pantry challenge in that I am allowing myself to buy 1 additional ingredient per meal if I need it.
  • Total spent during the first 4 weeks: $94.24.  I know that in last week’s post I sad a total of around $63, but I did go to the store on Tuesday last week for a few things. (milk, blueberries, strawberries, apples, mac & cheese (my 4 year old had a filling done that morning and he wanted mac and cheese for lunch), chocolate bars for s’mores, coffee, tortilla chips, sour cream, lettuce, cucumbers)

Here’s what’s on the plan this week:

  • Sunday: BBQ chicken, au gratin potatoes, veggies
  • Monday: Hamburger helper, veggies, bread and butter
  • Tuesday: Spaghetti with chicken sausage
  • Wednesday: Leftovers or Pizza
  • Thursday: Tacos
  • Friday: Beer battered fish, rice, veggies
  • Saturday: Creamy chicken, egg noodles, veggies

What do I see myself needing at the store this week? Aside from the basics (milk, eggs, fruit, veggies) all I need is sour cream for the tacos. Everything else is already in the house.  I may need a pack of lunchmeat and a couple things for my husband’s lunch, but that’s about it.  I’m pretty confident I can keep the total for these next 4 weeks under $100 again easily.  My goal is to come in under $75.

Who else is doing a pantry challenge?!

 

This entry was posted in Frugal living, Meal Plans, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meal plan for week of 7/10 (week 5 of the pantry challenge)

  1. mary says:

    Thanks for the ideas. I am trying to cut back on our budget again, so hard!

    Like

Leave a Reply

