Meal plan for week of 7/3 (4th week of the pantry challenge)

Another successful week on the pantry challenge!  I was able to stick to the plan and do minimal grocery shopping.  I did go over my goal of spending only $50 for these 4 weeks, but I still did pretty dang good!

I went shopping last Thursday for the onions and corn I needed for last week, and I did the shopping for this week as well.  Here’s the breakdown….

Aldi:

  • 2 dozen eggs ($0.68/dozen) $1.36
  • 3 pound bag of yellow onions $1.79
  • 1 head of lettuce $0.89
  • 10 ears of sweet corn $1.00
  • 16 oz bag of roma tomatoes $0.89
  • 2 pounds of strawberries ($1.49 each) $2.98
  • 3 pound bag of apples $3.29
  • sliced swiss cheese $1.79
  • sliced pepperjack cheese $1.79
  • 2 pounds of smoked ham ($3.49 each) $6.98
  • 2 gallons water $1.58
  • 1 seedless watermelon $2.99

Total out of pocket cost: $27.33

Total spent for 4 weeks of groceries: $62.33

$62.33!!!  4 weeks, 28 days, 84 meals (plus snacks)….and I only spent $62.33.

I’d say that is a HUGE success!  So huge in fact….that I decided to continue to do a modified pantry challenge for another 4 weeks.

Here’s the menu for this week:

  • Sunday: Oven roast chicken, noodle side dish, veggies
  • Monday: Oven roasted smoked sausage and potatoes, veggies
  • Tuesday: Chicken enchiladas with Mexican rice
  • Wednesday: Leftovers
  • Thursday: Tater topped casserole
  • Friday: Spaghetti and meat sauce/meatballs (undecided!) and bread
  • Saturday: Crockpot beef and noodles, veggies

What’s for dinner at your house this week?

*EDIT*

The total spent had to go up to $63.69. Why? I’ll give you one guess…..

hint:he’s 3.


I made the mistake of using the bathroom alone. The 2 new doze eggs ended up smashed on the carpet. So, my husband had to get 2 dozen eggs on his way home. 

PSA: if you have kids…don’t pee alone.

This entry was posted in Frugal living, General, Meal Plans, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

