Meal plan for 6/19 (and week 2 of the pantry challenge!)

I kinda did it again.  Remember last weeks post I talked about how not planning ahead will cause you to fail?  Well this week I almost failed again.

On Monday I had planned to make drunken pork chops with mashed potatoes.  I had the potatoes peeled, cut, and in the water coming to a boil.  I also had the pork chops thawed and trimmed.  I glanced at the recipe and I see that it takes 40-45 minutes to simmer.  Crap. I thought it only took 20 minutes.  There is no way that the pork is going to be done in time for dinner.  I grabbed my recipe book and looked quick to find a pork recipe that would go with mashed potatoes.  Thankfully I had everything to make a recipe that had a dijon gravy and it tasted fantastic over the potatoes.

Crisis averted.  What lesson did I learn?  Check the recipes that morning and plan ahead a bit better.

Here’s a break down of what I spent last week:

Aldi

  • 3 gallons water ($0.79 each) $2.37
  • Heavy whipping cream $1.69
  • Sliced swiss cheese $1.79
  • Sliced munster cheese $1.79
  • Ricotta cheese $1.89
  • Grape tomatoes $1.69
  • Dozen large eggs $0.68
  • Deli rolls $1.49

Total spent: $13.39

Walmart

  • 3 Gallons of milk  (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Half gallon of milk  (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 2 Juicy juice (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 2 Loaves of sandwich bread (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Dozen eggs (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • American cheese slices (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Jif peanut butter (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Head of iceburg lettuce (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Bag of tomatoes (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Bunch of bananas (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Mango (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 10 Ears of corn on the cob (WIC: no out of pocket cost)
  • 1 Ragu homestyle pasta sauce $1.97 – $1.50 (coupon+ibotta rebate) $0.47
  • String cheese $4.94
  • Sliced turkey $2.98

Total spent: $8.39

Overall total spent: $21.78

I did have to modify the shopping list a tiny bit and add in the rolls, sliced cheese, and turkey for lunch on Wednesday when my dad was visiting from out of town.  Also, the ricotta cheese was for baked ziti.  We also changed the plan after I had shopped and decided to do brats and burgers one night instead.  We already had everything for those and we moved the baked ziti to the meal plan this week.

I have to say, WIC has been amazing help for our food budget.  On last week’s grocery trip I used 3 WIC checks and it covered $31.38 of basic, healthy food.  I used to be ashamed to use the WIC checks for fear of judgment from other people.  Now, I encourage anyone that validly meets the eligibility to use the services they qualify for.  My pride will no longer be an obstacle.

Here is this week’s meal plan:

  • Sunday: Baked ziti and pull apart garlic bread
  • Monday: Chicken and broccoli stir fry with rice
  • Tuesday: Crockpot beef stroganoff with egg noodles
  • Wednesday: Leftovers
  • Thursday: Crockpot brown sugar balsamic glazed pork with mashed potatoes
  • Friday: Flaky ranch chicken and a noodle mix
  • Saturday: Beef porcupines, egg noodles, and birthday cake

Based on this meal plan here’s what I anticipate needing to buy: sour cream

That’s it. Just sour cream. I will probably end up getting some fresh fruit as well but sour cream is all I need for this week.

This week is a birthday week for our family too.  My youngest, Liam, turns 3 on Saturday.

*cue the tears*

We will be going to the movies for a matinee showing of “Finding Dory” to celebrate Liam’s birthday.  The movie, combined with dinner, cake (I have everything to make it), and a gift will be perfect.

What’s on the menu for your week?

This entry was posted in Frugal living, General, Meal Plans, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

