Modified June pantry challenge: take two!

Have you ever heard the saying, “Fail to plan, plan to fail”?  Well it is 100% true.

I failed my pantry challenge last week.  First off, I had planned on making sweet and sour chicken on Sunday.  I ended up outside helping my husband walk the deer pens to look for new fawns.  The grass out there is chest high in places, so it takes a while.  Because I was helping him, I didn’t get dinner started when I needed to.  The sweet and sour chicken takes about 2 hours.  I did however, change up the plan and used the chicken to make a different dish.

The big fail came on Tuesday.  I ran errands that afternoon and had the plan of returning home with time to make dinner.  Well….plans changed.  My 2 (almost 3!) year old had complained of his ear hurting the night before but not during the day.  So, naturally, I didn’t take him to get checked out. When we were in the store I noticed a bunch of dried gunk all in his ear, and on his outer ear.  It must have been the lighting because I swear it wasn’t there earlier.  Then a few minutes later he starts complaining that it hurts again.  It is now 5:30pm, his doctors office is closed, and the kids are getting hungry.  I was worried he had an infection or possible a ruptured ear drum. I’ve never seen that much stuff coming out of anyone’s ear before….and I worked in an ER for 6 years.

Cue the McDonald’s drive thru.  Yep.  I did it.  I grabbed all the kids dinner and took Liam to urgent care.  Thankfully my Kaela was with me and stayed in the car with Jack.

You want to know what the gunk was?  Ear wax.  Freaking ear wax.  His ear drum looked fine, no signs of infection, just a LOT of wax.  The doctor at urgent care said that his ear canal probably got plugged and pressure built up, causing the pain.  Then, the plug released and some drained out.  I felt so stupid after this.

I did learn, through all this, that I need to stock more snacks in the van in case something like this happens again.  That way I can feed everyone something to hold them over until we get home.  Lesson learned.

The rest of the week went as planned and I followed the meal plan in place, for the most part.  I did move a couple things around, but there wasn’t any more fast food!

take-2

So here’s a new attempt at the 4 week modified pantry challenge.  As I had explained in the original pantry challenge post, I will only be purchasing the essentials (milk, fruit, veggies) and up to 1 ingredient needed to make each meal.  If I need to buy more than 1 ingredient, its not going on the list.

Meal plan for the week of 6/12/2016:

  • Sunday: Sweet and sour chicken, rice, crab cheese wontons (this WILL get made this week)
  • Monday: Drunken pork chops, mashed potatoes, veggie
  • Tuesday: Venison marsala, egg noodles, veggie, peach cobbler (we’ll have company)
  • Wednesday: Baked ziti, pull apart garlic bread, green salad
  • Thursday: Leftovers
  • Friday: Tacos, Mexican rice
  • Saturday: BBQ chicken, pasta salad, veggie

Here’s what I need to buy: milk, ricotta cheese, heavy cream, lettuce, tomato, cucumber

That’s it.

Breakfasts and lunches are the normal stuff that I usually always have on hand.  I will make up a batch of pancakes to freeze for quick breakfasts because we have almost used up all the boxed waffles.  I also need to make a jar of homemade chocolate syrup for the kids because they have almost finished the store bought strawberry syrup.

This week should be easier because I will be planning ahead better. Next week’s meal plan post will have the cost breakdown of what I needed to buy as well.

I hope you all have a great week!

This entry was posted in Frugal living, Meal Plans, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Modified June pantry challenge: take two!

  1. acobriant82 says:

    This sounds like a great challenge! I need to try this asap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

