Our June (modified) Pantry Challenge

Have you ever gotten to the point when you have SO much food in the house you don’t know what to make?

I’ve gotten quite a bit of great deals the past few months and I have stocked up because their price was amazing (like the 24 pounds of butter at $2.29 each that now sit in the freezer).  I love to stock up when the price is low because ultimately, it saves money.  However, our pantry and freezers have gotten to the point that I’m finding things buried in the back.  So what do I decide to do?  A modified pantry challenge.

What is a pantry challenge?  You eat what you have and get creative to use things up.  Along with this, you only buy milk, fresh fruit, and fresh vegetables.   I decided I am going to do a modified version.  In my modified version, I am still going to plan on using only what I have.  In addition to buying just milk, fruit, and veggies… I am allowing myself to buy 1 additional ingredient per meal if I am out.  This would cover things like mayo, teriyaki sauce, salsa, spices, etc.  If the meal I am going to make is missing more than 1 ingredient, I won’t make it.

I recently inventoried my stand up freezer and my deep freezer.  This is what I have… (it’s overwhelming!)

  • 25 pounds ground beef
  • 2 chuck beef roasts
  • 1 arm roast
  • 1 sirloin steak
  • 2 packs of cube steaks
  • 2 venison roasts
  • 2 venison steaks
  • 8 packs of ground venison (1.5 pounds each)
  • 1 ribeye steak
  • 4 packs of NY strip (2 steaks each pack)
  • 2 packs T bone steak (2 steaks per pack)
  • 1 large bag of beer battered fish
  • 10 pounds of ground turkey
  • 2 frozen skillet meals
  • 2 bags of chicken fingers
  • 1 whole ham
  • 5 packs of pork chops
  • 2 pork roasts
  • 3 packs of bacon
  • 1 sausage links
  • 1 BBQ pork roast
  • 5 packs smoked sausage
  • 2 rolls of sausage
  • 1 bag French fries
  • 6 filets of seasoned tilapia
  • 1 8ct box pork burgers
  • 19 pounds salted butter
  • 3 pounds unsalted butter
  • 1 pack margarine
  • 1.5 pounds ground pork
  • 2 packs hot dogs
  • 9 packs chedder sausage
  • 2 packs chicken mozzarella sausage
  • 1 pack sausage grillers
  • 1 pack fajita chicken sausage
  • 1 bag chicken nuggets
  • 2 large packs chicken legs
  • 19 packs of boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 whole chickens
  • 14 loaves of bread (not sandwich bread)
  • 1 loaf sandwich bread
  • 4 packs English muffins
  • 3 packs hot dog buns
  • 4 packs hamburger buns
  • 34 juice concentrates
  • 1 pack of small flour tortillas
  • 1 pack medium flour tortillas
  • 1/2 package of Rhodes frozen dough
  • 5 bags frozen peas
  • 2 bags mixed veggies
  • 3 bags green beans
  • 4 bags carrots and peas
  • 2 bags California blend
  • 1 bag broccoli

And that’s not even including the beef in the freezer at my moms house!  We bought a half cow last year a couple months after I bought 80 pounds of ground beef….so we are a bit overloaded.  Thankfully it lasts for a while in the freezers!

I also didn’t inventory my pantry, cabinets, or storage shelves.  Taking the time to inventory all of that would just cause me to curl up in the corner and cry.  But,  they are pretty well organized so at least things are grouped together.

So….do you see my reasoning for a pantry challenge?  My goal is to spend $100 or less from June 5th (tomorrow) through July 2nd.  I’m sure we have enough to do this for 2 months, but let’s start with just one!

I will (try to remember to…) post a weekly meal plan on the Sunday of each week.  Ill also be working on getting the recipes typed up to share with you as well.  But, as we all know, life is CRAZY!  So if I don’t get to it, I’ll catch up!

Have you ever heard of this?  What’s the craziest thing you’ve thrown together to make a meal?

This entry was posted in Frugal living, General, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our June (modified) Pantry Challenge

  1. Pingback: Meal plan for week of 7/3 (4th week of the pantry challenge) | Focussed on Family

Leave a Reply

