Apple Fritter Monkey Bread

I’ve been trying my hardest to use up some of the odds and ends in my fridge and pantry lately.  I’m actually planning on doing a full on pantry challenge during the month of June. (stay tuned for that post coming up!).

I had 3 tubes of refrigerated biscuit dough that had a best by date in February of this year.  I had made plans one week of making sausage gravy to use them up..that didn’t happen.  Then I remembered seeing recipes floating around where you make doughnuts out of them.  I don’t have a thermometer to monitor the temperature of the oil so that was out.  The fall back became monkey bread.

We LOVE monkey bread in this house.  The sweet, sugary, sticky nuggets of warm dough don’t last long once it has cooled off enough to eat.  There are a bunch of different versions of monkey bread out there too.


I decided to make this one that I found on Pinterest with a simple change.  I didn’t add walnuts to it simply because I didn’t have any.  We aren’t big nut people in our baked goods so I rarely have them on hand.

Ingredients:

3, 7.5oz cans of refrigerated biscuits

2 apples peeled, cored, and diced

2 cups brown sugar

2 TBSP ground cinnamon

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/4 tsp allspice

1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees
  2. Grease a Bundt pan.  I used Crisco, but a nonstick spray would work too.
  3. Combine brown sugar, cinnamon, allspice and salt and in a small bowl. In another bowl have the melted butter.
  4. Cut each biscuit into 4 pieces.
  5. Place 1/3 of the apples in the bottom of the Bundt pan.
  6. Dip each piece of biscuit in the melted butter and then coat in the brown sugar mixture.
  7. Layer 1 can of the biscuits pieces on top of the apples.
  8. Place another 1/3 of apples on top of the biscuits and repeat the layers until used up.
  9. Bake for about 35 minutes, until golden brown.
  10. Let it sit for 10-15 minutes and then flip out onto a plate.

Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

3 TBSP milk (I used fat free)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix the ingredients for the glaze together and spoon over top of the hot monkey bread.

 

I don’t think this lasted more than a few hours in my house.  It is THAT good.  just make sure you have a cup of coffee or a glass of milk to go with it.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Frugal living, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

