Chocolate chocolate and mint chip cookies

Last week I made my bimonthly trip to an Amish bulk store.  It’s a hour away so I don’t go more often than that. Sometimes I hit the jackpot, sometimes it’s just “meh”, but it’s always worth going because I always find some great deals. 

  
This trip I hit the jackpot with the Nestle Winter chip mix.  They were 4/$1!!!!  So naturally, I grabbed 4.  Technically my 4 year old grabbed 4, counted them out, and put them in the cart for me.  I also found a huge bag of Cinnamon Toast Crunch for $1.49, 30 ct fruit snacks for $1.99, and some other odds and ends.  There weren’t that many deals for things that we needed, but this deal was worth the trip.

We are having issues with our furnace working appropriately and the house was 57 degrees the other day when it was 23 degrees outside.  Just a bit chilly.  I decided one of the best ways to warm up the house, was to bake something.  

  
These cookies are the recipe on the back of the bag and Nestle calls them “Mint Chocolate Delights”.

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup (2 sticks) of butter or margarine, softened (I used butter that was melted because it wouldn’t soften in my freezing cold house)

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1 10oz package of Nestle Toll House dark chocolate and mint morsels
Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla in a large mixer bowl until creamy.

Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each one.

Mix in flour mixture until completely incorporated.

Mix in chocolate chips.

Drop onto parchment paper lined cookie sheets by the tablespoon full.

Bake for 11-13 (11 was perfect!) minutes until they cookies are puffed up and centers are set.  

Move to a cooling rack after cooling for 2 minutes on the cookie sheet and cool completely.

  
I’m hoping that some will last for Christmas Eve for Santa, but I have a feeling they will be gone in a few days.  They are very light and fluffy, and have a fantastic mint flavor. 

A big “Thank you!” To E&S Sales in Shipshewana, Indiana for having these!

This entry was posted in Frugal living, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

