Welcome to the family!

We have a new addition that was added to our family on Sunday.  Meet Roxy!  She is a 7 week old Rottweiler and she has completely stolen our hearts!

I have always wanted a Rottweiler.  Ever since I met a couple of dogs at a dog show I have always wanted one.  My mom raised Labrador Retrievers and I grew up with that breed.  We even have one of my mom’s dogs now as a family pet.  But there has always been something that has drawn me back to the Rotties.

A month or so ago, on a Facebook garage sale group, was a post for a Rottweiler puppy. The people that had posted were the owners of the litter’s father.  They had first pick of the litter, but they didn’t have to room for another dog so they were looking to sell their puppy.  I saw the post and jumped on it!  My family went to their house to see the dad and his temperament before putting down a deposit.  We were more than pleased with his personality!  He sat on my husband’s lap and just wanted belly rubs.  We left a deposit before we left and knew that we would be able to pick our girl.

A few weeks later (Roxy was 4 weeks old) we were able to go to the house where the puppies were being raised with Kristina and Steve (the dad’s owners) to pick out our puppy.  What a horrible house this was.  The puppies were infested with fleas to the point I didn’t even want to pick them up.  The boys were taken back out to the van and I gave Kaela firm instructions to not touch anything.  Kristina and Steve were as appalled as we were to the conditions these puppies were being raised in.  My husband and I picked our puppy and Kristina and Steve said they would take her home with them, continue raising her and get her all fixed up and ready to come to our house at the end of the month.  Ideally, puppies shouldn’t leave their moms until 7-8 weeks when they are weaned, but the benefit of removing her outweighed the risk of taking her early.

They brought her back to their house and have been raising her up until Sunday. They got her cleared of fleas, have wormed her, taken her for her vet check and shots, gotten her transitioned from a milk replacer to dry dog food, potty trained her, introduced her to walking on a leash, and have socialized her and played with her on a daily basis.  We were kept up to date with almost daily photos, videos, and updates.  We were also invited (and encouraged) to visit her whenever we wanted.  We did this a couple times, but with having young boys the visits were never as long or as often as we would have liked them to be.

Roxy is like a completely different puppy!  I had considered (for a split second) of not getting her and asking for my deposit back.  But, we fell in love and we knew we couldn’t leave that puppy in that house.

She came home with us yesterday and she is adjusting wonderfully! I’m having to spend more time “training” my kids than training her. Here are some photos from bringing her home.

 

Kristina and Roxy

  

Steve and Roxy

  

Kaela got to hold her on the way home

  

Roxy ended up crawling into my lap at the end

 Kristina and Steve are truly amazing people and we couldn’t have asked for a better family to raise our puppy until she was old enough to come home with us.

This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to the family!

  1. Kristina Parsons says:

    Oh Alison that was the sweetest thing I have ever read, it brought a tear to my eye. Thanks so much for your kind words 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

