A little bit about us

So I’ve been blogging now for a few months, sharing things that make up part of our daily  life, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually introduced my family to you.  This may get a little long, so grab some coffee and sit yourself in a comfy chair.

My husband and I have been married for 4 and a half years now, together for 6.  We met through an online game.  I know, I know… we’re geeks.  I was born and raised in New York and he was born and raised in Indiana.  Just a few short months of actually meeting each other in person, I moved out to Indiana with my daughter who had just turned 7.  Yes, it may have been a risky move, but when you know….. you know.  We had both been married and divorced twice already, but felt that this was a chance worth taking.  I’m so happy that we did!

I went to school and became a nurse after my first daughter was born.  When I became pregnant with her I had been through only 1 year of college before leaving school to move in with, marry, and ultimately get pregnant by my first ex husband.  I worked as an ER nurse for 6 and a half years before becoming a stay at home mom.  I had always wanted to be a mom and stay home with my kids.  Due to different financial reasons, I wasn’t able to and a tragic event caused me to put things into perspective.

My husband and I got pregnant with our first child together in August of 2010.  Everything was progressing great.  We heard the heartbeat, I felt movement, and the pregnancy was perfect.  I was working at the time and other than being tired, nothing really made it difficult to go to work.  In December of 2010 we went in for our ultrasound at 18 weeks and we heard the worst words ever.  “There’s no heartbeat.”  I swear I felt my heart break at that moment.  I didn’t want to believe it.  I was convinced that the ultrasound tech just didn’t know what she was doing and that someone else would say “Oh there it is” and everything would be fine.  But it wasn’t.  I was admitted to the hospital, labor induced, and on December 9th I delivered a little boy we named Brandon.  My life spiraled into a depression for the next month until I was diagnosed with post partum depression, anxiety, and post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).  I was put on Zoloft and started receiving therapy.  I made every attempt to go back to work, but every time I even thought about it or stopped in to drop of doctors notes, I would just break down and cry.  There was no reason for the loss of the baby that anyone could find. So, naturally, I blamed myself.  Maybe I was working too hard and not resting enough.  Maybe I caught something from a patient that caused the loss.  I know there is nothing I could have done to have prevented it.  I know that now.  At the time….even though I knew that, I still blamed myself.  I was never able to go back to work.

The loss of Brandon put things into perspective for me.  Family was #1 and I wanted to spend every single second I could with my family.  I became pregnant with my now 3 year old (almost 4!) and it was then that we decided I would be a stay at home mom.  I have never regretted that choice.  There are days I wish I could leave the house and kids behind to go to work, but then I remember how much I would be missing out on.  It truly is a blessing to be able to stay home and raise my family.

My husband is an amazing person.  I know wives say these kinds of things all the time but he really is.  He works a full time job, an hour and 15 minutes away, 5 days a week.  On top of this he runs a deer farm.  yep you read that right.  A deer farm.  What is a deer farm?  Well think of it as a cattle farm.  We own whitetail deer on our property, in 10 foot tall pens.  He tracks genetics and plans on who gets bred to who every fall.  We have babies born every spring/summer.  Ultimately, the big payoff comes when you sell the bucks to hunting preserves.  We also sell bucks and does to other farms so that they can use them there.  We are only in year 3 of this business and from what we have been told, you wont start making profit until year 5.  So not only does he work a full time job, he runs a farm too. We don’t get to spend as much time together now as we’d like to, but the hope is that in the next few years the deer farm will provide enough income to us so that he can leave his other job.

My husband is also an amazing husband and dad.  He fully took on my daughter as his own when we moved in 6 + years ago.  He is ex-military and was raised by his grandparents on their dairy farm.  His work ethic is unbelievable and he values family, friendship, trust, and honesty above most everything else.  I couldn’t have picked a better person to spend the rest of my life with.  He enjoys science fiction books, Notre Dame football, and crime tv along the lines of NCIS and The Mentalist.

I am a bit opposite from my husband.  I love photography, romance and young adult novels, The Vampire Diaries and Reign, and movies in general.  We both enjoy live theater and wine!

We have 4 kids all together.  Kaela is my 13 year old.  She is a bright, bubbly, and kind person.  She is extremely artistic and creative.  She has been diagnosed with ADHD and still requires medication to be able to focus during the school day.  Ashleigh is 8 and lives with my ex husband.  Long story short…. When he and I divorced, she was SO MUCH of a daddy’s girl, I felt that taking her dad out of her life on a daily basis would be selfish on my part so I didn’t.  Ashleigh is very analytical and precise.  She loves science, robotics, and animals.  She and Kaela are quite opposite.  Jack is my 3 (almost 4!) year old.  He just started Pre K this year.  He is our rough and tumble boy, the class clown, and a softy at heart.  He loves trains, to play pretend, and to be outside.  Liam is the youngest (2) and is a mommas boy.  He loves to try to keep up with Jack, to “fix” things around the house with play tools, and books.  He is also a sensitive kiddo and loves to cuddle.

The kids love to go to the zoo, spend time outdoors, crafts, and cooking with mom.

We are a family of many different personalities and likes/dislikes, but we all mesh well together as one unit.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

