When did THIS happen?!

Seriously?!  When did this kid grow old enough to go to Pre-K?  These past 3 (almost 4 years) have flown by.  You’d think that I was a first time mom who was complaining about how fast the past years have flown by, how her baby is all grown up, and so on.  But, I’m not a first time mom and I still felt this way this past Wednesday.

IMG_5221I have a teen so I’ve lived through many “firsts”.  The first haircut, first birthday, first day of school, first birthday with 2 digits (I seriously cried when she turned 10), first school dance, etc.  It doesn’t get any easier just because you have been through it once already.

382899_2694592076759_1590565314_nWhen did this sweet little squishy face become old enough to be going to school ?!  I must have blinked one too many times in the past 3 years and 10 months because I was NOT ready to lose this guy for 3 hours a day, 3 days a week.

However…. he was.  He has been talking about “Big boy school” for months! He had his backpack all picked out (Spiderman!), school supplies all packed away, and new clothes to wear.  The day before his first day, I was sure to remind him (frequently) that his brother and I were going to drop him off at school, leave, and then pick him up when school was over.  Every single time he nodded that he understood.  Looking back on this, I’m sure this was my way of telling myself that I was going to get him back and that I wasn’t losing him completely yet.


On the morning of his first day, the parents were handed this note and a little bag filled with things to get us through our child’s first day.  A tissue, a tea bag, and some kisses.  Oh how perfect this was to receive as my son was racing forward and down the stairs without so much as a glance over his shoulder at me.  I didn’t even get a hug goodbye.


He was so ready to start his day.  As much as I wanted to chase him down to give him a hug, I allowed him to jump into this, both feet first, and with a smile on his face.

When 11 am rolled around, both his brother and I were there and waiting for him to be released from school.  The smile on his face and his resounding “YES!” when I asked him if he had fun were all I needed to hear to know that he was ready for this, that he wasn’t my little baby anymore, and that my husband and I had gotten him ready for this in the best way we could.

Looking forward to this time next year, I have mild anxiety knowing that both my boys will be in Pre-K and I will be by myself for a few hours each day. (unless there is another minion added to the mix)

But, I know exactly what will help me get through those first few hours….a tissue, a cup of tea, and some kisses.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When did THIS happen?!

  1. lynneggleton says:

    Kudos to the teacher or school who gave you that lovely, reassuring note! Well done! I only had to get one off to school-although my ate daughter lives with us now, her mother got her off to her first day. But I was in therapy the summer before my daughter went to Kindergarten. It is hard to let go! And now she is in college- another letting-go event!! You did a great job preparing your little guy!

    Like

    • anorris81 says:

      I don’t even want to think about them leaving for college! And yet…. I’ll be facing that in another 4 1/2 years! I think I’ll be more worried for that when the time comes. Fingers crossed we’ve prepared her enough for being on her own when the time comes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

