I’ve gained 20 pounds and I’m ok with that

This is a sensitive subject so please keep that in mind with any comments.  

At the very end of last year through the beginning of this year I jumped on board with Beachbody and the 21 day fix.  I have to say it is an amazing program!  The program helped my husband and I lose some unwanted weight. As with most every diet/nutrition program I’ve done that focuses on weight loss, I’ve gained it back.

  
I know exactly why I’ve gained it back too.

  • Stress: We have a lot going on in our life right now and a lot of change that everyone is adjusting to.  Yes, I know everyone has stress.  We just seem to have a full stress meter lately that is close to overflowing on a daily basis.  Stress causes an increase in cortisol and this hormone can cause weight gain.  
  • Stress eating: when I get stressed, I eat.  I have always been an emotional eater, and I have always tried to deal with stress in a different way.  Unfortunately, old habits die hard.
  • Lack of sleep/restful sleep: This is also a side effect of stress….and kids. Between late bedtimes (from trying to get the boys to stay in bed), frequent waking up, and early alarms (5 am), I don’t get the amount, or quality of sleep that I need. 
  • Financial limits: Without disclosing too much personal information, we have been functioning on half the normal income for a couple months now.  Add the additional strain of getting a deer farm up and running (for 3 years now) and you’ve got less income than you do expense.  We all know what that looks like. And let’s me honest… Fresh fruits and vegetables are expensive!! I can’t afford to feed my family organic, whole foods for every single meal and snack.  
  • Lack of willpower: When I’m stressed, I don’t have it. My willpower is kicked out the door by the yummy (less healthy) options that we have in the house.
  • Lack of time: Another biggie right now is I just don’t have time to workout.  Yes, it may only be 30 minutes. But by the time that workout is stopped and restarted a million times because of toddlers, it’s stretched to an hour.  Then, try to add in a shower and you are looking at another 30. So, the 30 minute workout is now 90 minutes long. I’m not trying to make excuses.  I just know that that 90 minutes each day is better spent doing other things that need to be done, for my sanity.

  

Now, the title of this blog says “…and I’m ok with that”

And for the first time in a while, I can honestly say I am! I have always dealt with having a less than positive body image.  I always compare myself to other people.  It took having a daughter who expressed “feeling fat” and “I look fat” to make me take a step back and reevaluate how I view myself. 

It is so vital that we (men and women) accept that we have a body that is our own.  It isn’t the model in the ads, the actor in the movie, or the celebrity in the magazine. We need to embrace our own bodies and stop comparing ourselves to others.  In addition to that we need to stop shaming others for not looking like the “ideal” person that the media has told us they should look like.  Body shaming needs to stop. 

So yes…. I’ve gained weight and I needed to buy pants one size up yesterday.  While I am a little bummed that I had to do that, I’m ok with it.  I’m ok with my body being my body. Im ok with not spending money on the gym or a trainer get the body society tells me I should have because I’d rather put that money towards our propane bill.  I’m ok not spending 30-90 minutes each day working out because I’m spending that time playing with my kids or folding laundry. 

I have accepted myself for who I am and that in itself, has lifted an enormous amount of stress from my shoulders.  I know that in a few years the boys will be in full time kindergarten and then I will have time to get that 30 minute workout in and a shower afterwards if I want to.  I will have time later on so I’m focussing on other more important things now…. my family’s happiness. 

This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve gained 20 pounds and I’m ok with that

  1. lynneggleton says:

    Well said!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

