Easy sugar cookie icing

  
I figured this would be a good follow up for yesterday’s post that had the sugar cookie recipe itself.  I’ve never tried to make a cookie icing that hardens.  It just seemed too difficult and scary.  Since I had such great success with the cookies, I decided to try out the icing.

I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com and the reviews convinced me that this was the one to try. I had to triple the recipe to have enough for all the cookies we made yesterday.  I added a little extra milk until the consistency seemed right. I wanted to be able to dip the cookies face down and have the extra run off. 

The kids had fun decorating the cookies. I did not have fun cleaning up the mess, but watching them did make it worth it!

   
   
Ingredients:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2-4 tablespoons milk (more if needed)
  • 2 teaspoons light corn syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract 

Directions:

  • Mix sugar and milk until desired consistency 
  • Add vanilla and corn syrup, mix
  • Dip cookies, decorate, let harden.

The icing tastes really good! I may or may not have had to lick my fingers while decorating….

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

