Fool-proof no chill sugar cookie recipe

  
I avoid rolled cookie dough like the plague. My can never get it right, it always sticks to everything (no amount of flour EVER helped, so don’t tell me to use flour in the comments!), and cookie cutter cookies always looked like blobs after they baked.  Seriously….they NEVER looked like the cutter that cut them.

Until now.  Now, I have finally won the war.  

While in Walmart today, buying lots of healthy things like fresh fruits and vegetables, we came across really cute decorated star shaped sugar cookies for the 4th of July.  I almost bought them.  Their incredibly adorable shapes, bright colors, and sugary goodness almost overcame me.  After all, I needed something to balance out all the healthy things I was buying.  But then I figured it would be fun to make some instead.  I thought “The kids would have so much fun decorating cookies!”  (Ask me later if this was actually a good idea to let a 2 and a 3 year old around sprinkles) So we ventured to the baking section.  Not the baking section over in the grocery part of the store…. The baking section by the greeting cards, birthday supplies, and scrapbook supplies.  The one with all the scary baking things I’ve never even thought about needing.  But, this is where we found some awesome Wilton star shaped cookie cutters.  They are all stars, but they are in 4 different sizes.  I used them all except the largest.  No one needs a cookie that big.

  
Once we were home, dinner cooked, and the kids were outside, I found this recipe on Pinterest and figured what the hell….let’s give it a go.  I halved the recipe because it was suggested to in the blog post and I am SO happy I did.  My neighbors probably not so much since they don’t get the extra million cookies that I would have given to them after realizing I made waaaay too much. 

Fool-proof, no chill sugar cookie recipe 

(Halved from original)

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3 cups all purpose flour

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • In a bowl, cream together butter and sugar until well mixed
  • Add in the egg and vanilla, mix
  • Add in the baking powder, mix
  • Add the flour, 1 cup at a time, and mix well
  • Roll dough out your preferred way (flour, powdered sugar, or with parchment paper as I describe below), cut with cookie cutters, and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet
  • Cook at 350 degrees for 6-8 minutes.

By halving the recipe, and using the smaller 3 sizes of cookie cutters I ended up with 15 4-inch stars, 15 3-inch stars, and 17 2-inch stars.  I am missing 3 cookies because the smallest minion climbed onto the table and took one, and then of course the middle and oldest minions had to have one too.  Even without the diabetic coma that will be on the cookies tomorrow when they are done decorating…..the kids gave them 2 thumbs up and a million “mmmmmm” sounds while they devoured them.  

Here’s a couple tips.

1. Don’t roll the dough out on flour, or the powdered sugar she mentions.  I found an easier way that prevents the cookies from getting all squished and ripped when you try to lift them to move them onto your cookie sheet.  Place a piece of parchment paper on the counter.  Place the dough to be rolled out on the parchment paper, lay a piece of waxed paper on top, and then roll it out so it is sandwiched between the paper.  Cut your cookies, remove the excess dough, and then, gently lift the parchment paper and flop each cookie onto your hand and then place them on a parchment lined cookie sheet. See the photo below.

 

2. Follow the cooking instructions.  Do not overbake them.  I baked my cookies for 7 minutes and they came out perfect.  Just the edges of the very tips were starting to brown.  Slide the parchment paper off the cookie sheet right onto a cooling rack and let the cookies sit for a couple minutes before removing them from the paper.  They will stiffen up as they cool.  If you try to remove them right away, you run the risk of them breaking.

     
I’m so excited that I found this recipe, and that it worked! Now I can let my kids create a disaster on a regular basis when cookies are made for holidays.  At least we will all have memories of fun times…..right? 

Now I need to find a fool-proof icing recipe. Help?

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

