Why I love Meijer!

In my area, the cheapest places to do your grocery shopping are Walmart and Aldi.  There is a Meijer along the same road, but their prices are more expensive so I don’t shop there on a regular basis.  Even if the items are only $0.10 more than another store…. It adds up over time.

  
However…… Meijer has this awesome sale that runs frequently.  I shopped it in May and then again in June. It is their 10 for $10 sale.  You can mix and match items included in the sale.  You get 10 for $10 and the 11th item is free.  I don’t know why they don’t just call it the 11 for $10 sale.  It works out to where each item is $0.90. Knowing how much items are at other stores is important.  Just because Meijer has it on sale doesn’t mean you can’t get another brand cheaper at another store.

I use these sales to stock up on shelf stable food (that we use!!) and food that can be frozen (if we have room in the freezers….yes multiple freezers).  By stocking up on an item at a lower price, I am saving money from having to buy it at full price later on when I need it.

In May I purchased frozen juice concentrate, pasta, spaghetti sauce, soda, knorr rice sides, knorr pasta sides, canned ravioli (my daughters addiction), frozen waffles, boxed augratin and scalloped potatoes, English muffins, and more that I can’t remember.

This is the breakdown for June:

  • Peppers (2)
  • Pepsi products, 2 liters (25)
  • Hamburger Helper (5)
  • Chicken Helper (2)
  • Tuna Helper (4)
  • Hunts manwich (11)
  • Eckrich hotdogs and cheddar hot dogs (11)
  • Frozen waffles (11)
  • Take and bake French bread (11)
  • Hot dog buns (3)
  • Hamburger buns (3)
  • Condensed soup (5)
  • Frozen vegetables (11)
  • Coke (2)
  • Pilsbury frosting (5)
  • Pilsbury brownie mix (6)
  • Canned cheese ravioli (11)
  • Old orchard 100% juice concentrate (39)
  • Frozen sherbet (5)
  • Refrigerated biscuits (4)

In addition to the 10 for $10 deals listed above I also got:

  • 3 pairs of flip flops for my daughter ($20)
  • 2 packs of bug repellant wipes ($7.98)
  • 2 bottles of bug repellant spray for the yard ($22.98)
  • A new release movie for my husband for Father’s Day ($34.99)
  • 2 packs of johnsonville beer brats (2/$6)

Total out of pocket: $235.96

Total number of items: $186


Meijer will also text you notices of coupons to your cell phone.  On this shopping trip I saved an additional 5% off all grocery items, 10% off all general merchandise, and 15% off apparel.  AND there were personal rewards that I completed….

  • Save $5 on your next order when you spend $25 on Pepsi products
  • Save $5 on your next order when you spend $40 on frozen foods
  • Save $6 on your next order when you spend a total of $175

I’m waiting for those “on your next order” rewards to show up on my account so I can go back to Meijer today to use them on more 10 for $10 sale items.  It can take up to 24 hours for the system to update and I am on hour 22 now.  That’s the ONLY thing I can complain about. It’s too slow to update!

My freezers are now full (though there is still room for more juice concentrate, which is what I’ll use my rewards on) and my pantry is stocked.  Is it the healthiest food? Nope. But, it is comforting knowing that if we are in a financial pinch, we have things stocked up to use.

This entry was posted in Frugal living, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

