Homemade Meatballs

My mom makes the most amazing meatballs I have ever had.  I’m sure you all can say the same about something you remember your mom or dad making when you were growing up.  As for my dad, I always remember his venison marsala.  I have never been able to make meatballs quite the same, but this is a close contender.  It gets thumbs up from everyone in my family, and that means it’s a winner.

I modified this recipe that I had found online. 

  
Ingredients:

1 pound each of ground beef and ground pork

2/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

2 tablespoon garlic powder

2 tablespoon onion powder

2 tablespoon Italian seasoning (omit if using seasoned breadcrumbs)

1 cup breadcrumbs (I used panko but any kind is fine)

2 eggs

Salt and pepper to taste

  
Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  This is the time to get your hands in there and really get it all mixed together.  Form meatballs (about 1.5 inches in diameter) and place on a foil lined cookie sheet so that they aren’t touching.  Cook in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes.  If you are making smaller or larger meatballs adjust the cook time accordingly.  This recipe makes 3 dozen meatballs and I package them for the freezer in bags of 12. 

If you are freezing some of these meatballs, let them cool completely before packaging them in a freezer bag.  When you are ready to use them, let them thaw and then heat them in your sauce on the stove.

I love making triple batches of things like this so the extra gets put away in the freezer for the next planned or unplanned meal.  

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homemade Meatballs

  1. Howto$tuffYourPig says:

    We love meatballs! I will have to try these using turkey since we don’t eat red meat! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Meal plan for week of 7/3 (4th week of the pantry challenge) | Focussed on Family

  3. Pingback: Meal plan for the week of 2/5/2017 | Focussed on Family

  4. Pingback: Meal plan for the week of 3/5/2017 | Focussed on Family

Leave a Reply

