Homemade strawberry and blueberry sauce

  
Every year I like to try new canning recipes.  I’ve only been canning for about 3 years so I’m still a newbie.  I have only ever used the water bath method of canning because the idea of using a pressure canner scares me.  What if it explodes?!   I know it’s not going to, but it’s a huge fear of mine.  

I love to can fruit that is in season during the summer.  This way, we can enjoy off season fruit when it isn’t available.  Honestly, there is only so many bananas, apples, and pears that I can eat.  I’ve successfully canned jelly and jam, peach slices, pear chunks, applesauce, and hopefully (fingers crossed!) pineapple once it ripens up.  Blueberries and strawberries were on sale the other day and they looked really good so I bought some to can.  

I wasn’t entirely sure what I wanted to make with it so I did some searching online and found a recipe for blueberry syrup here which can also be used for other berries as well.  The recipe gives full instructions (with pictures) on how to prepare your jars, make the recipe, and can the jars.  

I started with the blueberry syrup first.  Here’s a couple of notes:

  1. If you want a clear syrup strain the fruit like the recipes says.  If you want more of a sauce, don’t strain it at all.
  2. Using the 7 cups of sugar makes it REALLY sweet. Almost too sweet. Start with 4.5 cups and taste it before adding more.
  3. Unless you have a large family, don’t can in pint jars.  You don’t need much of this and a pint is a large amount when it comes to super sugary yummy stuff like this.
  4. Following the recipe exactly (with the 7 cups of sugar) made 4 pint jars and a little leftover that went in the fridge.  

We ate the bit that was leftover on top of French toast and it was amazing!

I made the strawberry sauce a few days later.  I didn’t strain the juice because I wanted the chunks of the fruit in it.  I only used 4.5 cups of sugar this time and it was the perfect amount because it didn’t overpower the flavor of the strawberries.  I also used half pint jars this time and ended up with 7 half pint jars with a little leftover.  These leftovers didn’t last because my 3 year old found a spatula and cleaned out the pot. 

These fruit sauces will be amazing on top of ice cream, pancakes, French toast, yogurt, oatmeal, pound cake, cheesecake, and I’m sure many more things.

This entry was posted in Canning, Frugal living, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

